Azzi Medal – Review

In his first season with the Spiders, Jolliffe picked up 26 votes to draw five clear of Henty star Daniel Cox and Culcairn’s Jye Shields.

Shields also came runner-up last season.

Jolliffe joins Peter Hancock (2016 and 2013), Adam Hansen (2006), Anthony Ross (2002) and Jim Sandral junior (1997) as recent Howlong winners.

The former Ovens and Murray representative rated the win as one of the highlights of his career.

“It’s very special,” Jolliffe said.

“There are a lot of really good players in the league and I thought Coxy or Jye might have won.

“Last year was a pretty tough year for me and I’m just really enjoying footy again.”

Jolliffe arrived at Howlong this year after stints with Collingullie-Glenfield Park and Wodonga Raiders last season and was best afield in his first two matches for the Spiders.

He went on to poll in 11 of the 16 matches he played.

Cox led the count after six rounds with 14 votes but failed to pick up votes between rounds seven and 13 which saw him slip off the pace.

“My form was pretty consistent and I owe Howlong a lot for that as they made me feel right at home,” Jolliffe said.

Holbrook’s Josh Jones and Osborne’s Declan Galvin were the surprise packets of the count, finishing third and fourth respectively with 21 and 20 votes.

Brock-Burrum’s Nico Sedgwick came fifth but was ineligible due to a suspension.

Saint Zac Barrenechea was victorious in the reserves, Rand-Walbundrie-Walla ruckman Ty Voss won the thirds and Giant Nathan Wardius took out the fourths.

About 300 people attended the function at Henty.

Kotzur, who finished fifth last season, picked up six votes in the final two rounds to edge out Billabong Crows coach Beck O’Connell and Jindera’s Sharna Holland by two.

The spring-heeled Kotzur grabbed votes in 13 matches and turned in five best-on-court performances in polling 28 votes.

Kotzur said she was honoured to win the best and fairest ahead of a star-studded list of players.

“It’s an absolute honour to win it,” Kotzur said.

“I’m really surprised as I thought I was a bit inconsistent at times during the season.

“I thought Sharna might win.

“It’s just the best club to be involved with and Tracey (Oates) our coach has done an incredible job with the Giants.”

The St Pauls College teacher will play a vital role for the Giants when they do battle with Lockhart in Saturday’s preliminary final.

“Lockhart has come from nowhere and they’re going to be really hard to beat,” she said.

Osborne’s Courtney Menzies and pre-count Billabong Crows favourite Holly Dowling tied for third on 23 votes.

Jindera’s Courtney Katalinic followed on 21, with Lockhart youngster Holly Murphy next on 20.

She picked up 28 votes to score a comfortable win from Brock-Burrum’s Angela Kavanagh, Henty’s Denise James and Murray Magpie Tara Lieschke on 23.

Brock-Burrum’s Brianna Livermore was a popular winner in C grade, Giant Olivia Merriman took out C reserve, Osborne’s Grace Clancy won 16 and under, Howlong’s Mia Lavis was successful in 14 and under and Holbrook’s Maddie Black and CDHBU’s Remy Longmire tied in 12 and under.

Menzies took out the league’s Rising Star award and Rand-Walbundrie-Walla won the Netball Club Champion Trophy.

In other awards, Jindera’s won the Football Club Champion and Osborne were the Overall Club Champion.

Henty’s Brett Singe was named Umpire of the Year, Jindera’s Jacob Ladgrove was most improved and Osborne’s Laurie Sly picked up a services to umpiring award.

Swampie star Daniel Cox collected the WAW Player of the Year award.

Rand-Walbundrie-Walla’s Janelle Garlick was the 2018 Volunteer of the Year.



26: Steve Jolliffe (Howlong)

21: Daniel Cox (Henty)

21: Jye Shields (Culcairn)

20: Josh Jones (Holbrook)

18: Declan Galvin (Osborne)

17: Nico Sedgwick (Brock/Burrum)

16: Jarrah Maksymow     (Henty)

16: Matt Seiter (Brock/Burrum)

16: Trent Castles (Jindera)

14: Chris Duck (RWW)

12: Aaron Baker (Holbrook)

12: Damian Cupido (Henty)

12: Kade Rowe (CDHBU)

11: Justin Gordon (RWW)

11: Zac Sheather (Lockhart)


25: Zac Barrenechea (Brock/Burrum)

19: Andrew Reid (Howlong)

19: Matt Louwrier (Jindera)

16: Michael Gleeson (Osborne)


30: Ty Voss (RWW)

29: Riley Knobel (Culcairn)

24: Aidan Connell (Jindera)

23: Lachie Holmes (Holbrook)

23: Luke Argus (Lockhart)


43: Nathan Wardius (RWW)

36: Hunter Galvin (Holbrook)

32: Nick Newton (Henty)


A grade

28: Jessica Kotzur (Rand-Walbundrie-Walla)

26: Rebecca O’Connell (Billabong Crows)

26: Sharna Holland (Jindera)

23: Courtney Menzies (Osborne)

23: Holly Dowling (Billabong Crows)

21: Courtney Katalinic (Jindera)

20: Holly Murphy (Lockhart)

19: Georgia Pitson (Culcairn)

16: Brooke Cannon (Howlong)

15: Jessica Noordewier (Brock-Burrum)

B grade

28: Brianna Higgins (Rand-Walbundrie-Walla)

23: Angela Kavanagh (Brock-Burrum)

23: Denise James (Henty)

23: Tara Lieschke (Magpies)

20: April Piltz (Henty)

19: Alannah Cusack (Howlong)

19: Sarah Mathews (RWW)

C grade

24: Brianna Livermore (Brock-Burrum)

19: Millicent Wall (Howlong)

19: Sheridan Casley (Magpies)

17: Gabrielle Sutcliffe (Billabong Crows)

14: Alicia Murphy (Howlong)

14: Leah Dore (Billabong Crows)

C reserve

24: Olivia Merriman (RWW)

22: Naomi Fox (Lockhart)

20: Tamara Nixon (Crows)

19: Rebecca Glover (Jindera)

16 and under

24: Grace Clancy (Osborne)

22: Evie Wall (BB Saints)

20: Laura Kotzur (Giants)

16: Georgia Gorman (Howlong)

16: Rachael Galvin (Osborne)

14 and under

27: Mia Lavis (Howlong)

26: Ruby Bouffler (Lockhart)

24: Nikita Clancy (Giants)

23: Jessica Fealy (Crows)

12 and under

27: Maddie Black (Holbrook)

27: Remy Longmire (CDHBU)

26: Hamali Binding (Magpies)

24: Sara Burns (BB Saints)

20: Bonnie McNamara (Howlong)

20: Susie Male (Henty)