Border Mail Azzi Medal – Review

Seiter backed up his 2016 success at Wodonga by polling a record 36 votes – six more than Culcairn star Jye Shields.

Howlong champion Jack O’Halloran won the Azzi medal in 1971 before crossing to Wangaratta and taking out the Morris Medal in 1975.

Norm Webb also achieved the feat in 1952 with Wodonga before completing the double with Jindera in 1955.

Seiter polled in 14 matches and was voted best afield on 10 occasions.

In a sensational finish to the home and away series, the powerhouse big-man grabbed 20 of a possible 24 votes in the final eight rounds of the season.

“I was really nervous tonight,” Seiter, who had the crowd in raptures just as he did in 2016, said.

“At the Morris Medal the other year, I turned up not thinking I was a chance but here they only invite two apparently so I was on edge.

“The pressure was on a bit and I felt it but I’ve really enjoyed it this year and this is pretty good, isn’t it.

“When the AFL changed the rules and said you can take it out of the ruck, I must admit, I was pretty happy with that.

“I just try to tap it down to the blokes around me as they are just awesome players.”

It’s the second crown Seiter has taken out at Henty in the past 12 months, having claimed the CWA’s scone-eating title at the Field Days last September.

“I ate the most scones in a minute. I had eight last year, and look out, I think I can go better in a week or two’s time,” he said.

Although Shields hit career best form for Culcairn this season, he had to be content with runners-up for the third successive year.

The long-kicking midfielder finished five votes behind Howlong’s Steve Jolliffe last season and two behind Osborne’s Jamie Parr in 2017.

Veteran Lockhart ruckman Neil Irwin finished a distant third on 24 votes, with Brock-Burrum’s Nico Sedgwick (20) and Howlong’s Ben Baker (18) rounding out the top five.

Seiter, who joined Brock-Burrum two seasons ago to be closer to his wife, Emily, who plays A-grade netball for the club, is the fourth Saint to win the Azzi in the past decade.

Trent Storey (2010), Sedgwick (2014) and Luke Schilg (2015) have tasted success in recent years.

Demon delight as Abe wins Rising Star

YOUNG Lockhart wingman Abe Wooden has beaten a star-studded list of nominations to win the league’s Rising Star award.

Wooden, who polled six votes in the senior count, is the third Demon to salute in recent years after Jeremy Sykes was successful in 2014 and 2015 and Andrew Emery won in 2016.

He played 15 matches and kicked seven goals.

“It’s pretty humbling,” Wooden said. “A few good players have won this award over the years.

“It’s good for Lockhart.”

Howlong veteran Tim Seymour won the reserve grade best and fairest despite playing only 14 matches.

Seymour, who returned to the Spiders this season after a stint in the Upper Murray, polled 22 votes to finish five clear of Rand-Walbundrie-Walla midfielder Sam Gifford.

In the thirds, Osborne’s Ed O’Connell was voted best afield in the final round to clinch a thrilling one-vote victory over Holbrook’s Ewan Mackinlay.

They finished on 28 and 27 votes respectively with Brock-Burrum’s Keith Tallent a vote further back on 26.

Mackinlay picked up two votes in the final round despite being taken from the ground at half-time to play seniors.

Culcairn’s Mitch Way scored a runaway win in the fourths, polling 49 of a possible 54 votes. Way, who was best afield on 15 occasions, is the Lions’ first winner since Jesse Kent in 2005.

Billabong Crows’ Zak Satore (35), Lockhart’s Harrison Brown (33) and Brock-Burrum’s Carl Ziebarth (32) grabbed minor placings.

Culcairn’s Jye Shields took out the WAW Player of the Year award.

Brock-Burrum won the football club championship and overall club championship trophy.




36: Matt Seiter (Brock-Burrum)

30: Jye Shields (Culcairn)

24: Neil Irwin (Lockhart)

20: Nico Sedgwick (Brock-Burrum)

18: Ben Baker (Howlong)

16: Matt Sharp (Holbrook), Steve Jolliffe (Howlong)

15: Zorran Bin Busu (Henty)

14: Chris Duck (Rand-Walb-Walla)

12: Matt McDonald (Howlong), Josh Evans (Billabong Crows)

11: Sam Livingstone (Osborne), Heath Ohlin (Henty), Jack Duck (Rand-Walb-Walla), Jordan Harrington (Lockhart)

10: Connor Galvin (Osborne), Andrew Dess (Holbrook), Jamie Parr (Osborne)


22: Tim Seymour (Howlong)

17: Sam Gifford (Rand-Walb-Walla)

16: Aaron Livermore (Brock-Burrum), Richard Wood (Culcairn)

15: Jakob Hanrahan (CDHBU)


28: Ed O’Connell (Osborne)

27: Ewan Mackinlay (Holbrook)

26: Keith Tallent (Brock-Burrum)

23: Nick Newton (Henty)

21: Bailey Phillips (Culcairn)


49: Mitchell Way (Culcairn)

35: Zak Sartore (Billabong Crows)

33: Harrison Brown (Lockhart)

32: Carl Ziebarth (Brock-Burrum)

27: John Ryan (Osborne)