Border Mail – Hall of Fame – 2018


O’Halloran and Holbrook ruckman Noel Coutts are the only players to win the Azzi medal on three occasions.

A mix-up in the voting cost him the Coreen and District league medal at Rand in 1982, where he was runner-up in the Archie Dennis Medal.

The rugged midfielder made his senior debut at Howlong in 1975 and went on to win best and fairests in 1978, 1979, 1983, 1986, 1987 and 1988.

O’Halloran also won the top honour at Rand (1982) and Wodonga Demons (1985).

One of his highlights was playing in Howlong’s 1977 premiership, alongside brother Tom, when they beat rivals Burrumbuttock by 27 points.

O’Halloran, who was one of seven brothers to play for Howlong, represented the Hume, Tallangatta, Coreen and Central West leagues.

He finished his career by coaching Bathurst to premierships in 1993 and 1994.


Trevaskis joined Lockhart in 1962 when they were playing in the Farrer league and tallied over 300 matches.

But his service off the field has been just as valuable with Trevaskis receiving best clubman on three occasions.

In 1997, Trevaskis was awarded life membership of Lockhart and in 2008 was named the Hume Football League Volunteer of the Year.

Other awards include an Australian Sports Medal in 2008 and an AFL NSW/ACT 30 years Special Service Award in 2012.

Arguably Trevaskis’s biggest legacy has been as a trainer.

He was an inaugural member of the Hume Trainers Association in 1982 and is still serving today.

The popular Trevaskis spent eight years as president or vice-president of the association.


Norman joins her husband, Lindsay, in the Hall of Fame after devoting six decades of her life to netball.

She was a driving force behind the formation of the Coreen and District Netball Association and held the position as secretary/treasurer from the inaugural meeting in 1972.

Starting with seven teams and 100 players, Noreen’s enthusiasm saw the league expand to 10 teams and over 450 players at its peak.

Norman had a long and successful 300-game playing career starting off at Rand in 1961, before playing at Daysdale.

She played in a premiership with Rand in 1970 and coached Daysdale to a premiership in 1986 after having won just three games in the previous two years.

Norman was also instrumental in the introduction of the Coreen versus Hume league under 14 and 16 inter-league contests in 1987.


Kohlhagen started her journey in 1964 as a player at Walla in a playing career spanning 35 seasons.

She won A grade premierships with the Hoppers in 1965 and 1967 and B grade titles in 1965, 1976, 1978, 1981, 1991, 1993 and 1994.

Kohlhagen started playing in the Albury Netball Association’s Monday night competition in 1985 and is still known to fill in today.

She took up umpiring as a teenager and 50 years later is still officiating two games most weekends.

Kohlhagen served as secretary/treasurer of the Hume Netball Association for 10 years and was awarded life membership of Walla in 1989 and the association in 2001.

Her husband, Cec, was heavily involved in forming the Hume Trainers Association in the 1980s.

All 13 of Kohlhagen’s grandchildren are presently playing with the Rand-Walbundrie-Walla Giants or have played for Walla.


The brothers reformed the Hume league in 1945 post-World War II with the league’s best and fairest medal named in their honour.

Refugees from World War I, the pair immigrated to Australia making Brocklesby their home.

Kelly was secretary of Brocklesby  from 1923 to 1928 and filled the role of treasurer between 1923 and 1927.

In 1935, he became president of Balldale and held the post until 1958.

One of his proudest achievements was acquiring lighting for the ground.

From 1947 to 1958, Kelly was vice president of the Hume league.

Younger brother George was a Brocklesby man throughout his playing and administrative career and served the Hume league with great distinction.

George had a successful playing and coaching career at Brocklesby.

He played in the 1928 and 1939 premiership sides and coached the club from 1945 to 1947.

George became president of the Hume league in 1945 and continued in this role until 1958.