Osborne big man takes out top prize in Azzi medal count

From the Eastern Riverina Chronicle

POPULAR Osborne big man Jamie Parr has capped off a stellar season by taking out the 2017 Hume Football League Azzi Medal last Wednesday evening at Henty Community Club.

He became just the fifth Osborne player to take out the award and the first since Cal McLay in 2005.

Parr joined Osborne from Riverina Football League club Coolamon in 2009 and will be a huge player in the club’s attempt to win the grand final this Saturday.

With only five votes at the half way mark of the season, he stormed home to wrap it up in the final round against Jindera.

Former winner Peter Hancock and Jindera’s Sam Myors finished just one vote behind the runners up in a hotly contested count.

Osborne veteran Michael Gleeson won his second Odewhan Medal in the reserve grade. He previously won in 2008 and runners up in both 2015 and 2016.

The under 17s was joint winners with Henty’s Mark Wettern and Brock Burrum’s Rhys Mitsch. RWW Giants Jake Thomas won the under 14s by three votes from Holbrook’s Ewan Mackinlay.