Jamie Parr charges home to win Azzi Family Medal

From the Border Morning Mail,

SPRING-heeled Osborne forward Jamie Parr has become only the Cats’ fifth player to take out the Hume league’s Azzi medal.

Parr stormed home with nine votes in the final four rounds to edge out Culcairn’s Jye Shields and Brock-Burrum’s Nico Sedgwick by two in an exciting count at Henty on Wednesday night. His 21 votes were polled in nine matches.

Parr joins Cal McClay (2005), Stephen Clarke (2000 and 2001), Russell Smith (1995) and Rob O’Connell (1990 and 1988) as Osborne’s winners of the prestigious medal.

Recruited from Riverina league club Coolamon in 2009, Parr had only five votes at the halfway mark before motoring home with a series of best on ground performances.

As you get older you get smarter,” Parr said.

 “I’m surprised with so many good players on the league. It’s good to win, but I’m looking forward to the grand final.”

Last year’s winner Peter Hancock and Jindera’s Sam Myors finished equal third on 18 votes with Culcairn co-coach Adam Eady next on 15.

Two of the pre-count favourites, Lockhart’s Jordan Harrington and Murray Magpie Daniel Maher, managed only 10 and nine votes respectively.

Parr said his move to Osborne had been the best decision of his footballing career.

Osborne is about the people who aren’t on the field,” he said.

Osborne is about the people who aren’t on the field – Jamie Parr

“The ladies auxiliary is underrated.”

The Cats made it a double with Michael Gleeson romping to victory in the reserves.

He polled 21 votes to finish nine well clear of Jindera’s Matthew Louwrier and Holbrook’s Will Bunyan.

Henty’s Mark Wettern and Brock-Burrum’s Rhys Mitsch were joint winners in the thirds on 22 votes and Rand-Walbundrie-Walla’s Jake Thomas saluted in the fourths.